Home Board of Commissioners Board of Commissioners

The five-member Board of Commissioners is elected at large for four-year staggered terms and may serve unlimited terms. Their duties include deciding what services should be provided to the citizens and how to pay for the services; appointing the County Manager and County Attorney; designating the County Clerk; adopting an annual budget; setting the property tax rate; establish service levels for solid waste, emergency services, public safety, library, public health, mental health and social services; adopting zoning and subdivision regulations; approving new positions, and appointing over 300 people to 50 citizen boards.

The Board meets twice each month, normally on the first Monday at 9:00 a.m. and the third Monday at 5:30 p.m. in the Historic Courtroom of the Haywood County Courthouse, in Waynesville.

Mailing Address:
215 N. Main Street
Waynesville, NC 28786